News Ticker

Austin Music Awards honors great talent

Talent Galore!

Talent Galore!


The Austin Chronicle and SXSW proudly present the
36th Annual Austin Music Awards to be held February 28, 2018 at ACL Live at the Moody Theater

The Austin Music Awards (AMAs) recently announced more musicians to perform at the 36th Annual Awards to be held Wednesday, February 28 at ACL Live at the Moody Theater. Acclaimed songwriter JOHN FULLBRIGHT and JOHN HIATT, who the Los Angeles Times calls, “…one of rock’s most astute singer-songwriters of the last 40 years,” will take the stage along with singer, songwriter, fiddler extraordinaire PHOEBE HUNT and celebrated songwriter MICHAEL FRACASSO. Add to this Austin’s beloved ALEJANDRO ESCOVEDO and DAVÍD GARZA and the AMAs have created a most memorable night of music once again. And as in years past, don’t be surprised if the AMAs produce a VERY SPECIAL GUEST or two.

With the careful curation of this year’s AMA lineup, the organizers strongly believe the Future is Now, and that more than ever music has a crucial role in reminding us that great art is culturally and humanly inclusive. This year the Austin Music Awards, which honors the winners of the Austin Chronicle Music Poll, brings an all-star lineup of legendary performers together including previously announced artists, LUCINDA WILLIAMS, THE BLACK ANGELS, DAVID RAMIREZ, ADAM TORRES, and THIRD ROOT, who will perform with Grammy-winning producer Adrian Quesada and special guests Riders Against the Storm, Trizzol, Reggie Coby, Da’Shade, Vocab, and Bavu Blakes.

CHARLIE SEXTON will serve as Music Director, and for the second year, Mayor Steve Adler shows his support by presenting the Mayor’s House Band with Michael Ramos, John Michael Schoepf and Conrad Choucroun. Rick McNulty and Laurie Gallardo of KUTX will return to host the awards ceremony whose proceeds benefit the SIMS Foundation. In past years legendary performers, guests, and presenters such as Robert Plant, Chrissie Hynde, Fab 5 Freddy, Terry Allen, Blondie, Bruce Springsteen, and Pete Townshend have taken the stage at the Austin Music Awards to celebrate the Austin musicianship that this city is now known for the world over.

And in case you missed it, the Austin Music Awards earlier announced that the Townes Van Zandt Songwriting Award will be presented to singer-songwriter JOE ELY and the Margaret Moser Women in Music Award will be presented to LIZ LAMBERT, founder and Creative Director of Bunkhouse Hotels by Grammy Award winner and musician, LUCINDA WILLIAMS.